Total Levels Re-Thought

Ok, so I’ve been thinking recently about 99’s, and I noticed that a lot of players like to brag about how much better they are at the game because of their total level. As we all know, this can be easily raised with simple and non-complicated skills such as cooking and fletching. In my opinion, for example, a player with 80 summoning is a “better” player than one with 99 cooking or fletching etc.

While thinking about this, I started to develop a formula that would recalculate a total level and have it reflect upon the difficulty of the skills rather than just straight numbers. In other words, a maxed out cooking level would be somewhat even with a mid level construction or runecrafting.

I did some research and found the amount of people that have 99’s in each skill. (Yes I could be more accurate with times and cost, but this is just a rough idea and I think this way pretty much captures the main idea.)

Basically what you do is take each of your skills and multiply your level by the “difficulty rank”. We’ll call that total for each skill your “skill value”. Once you find all of your skill values, you add them all up and divide by 24.

The scale is as follows:   (All 1’s and 10 HP) = 14.375   (All 99’s) = 1237.5

Not a very uniform scale, but like I said its just a rough idea.

The difficulty ranks are based on the number of people who have 99. (24-Least People – 1-Most People)

Summoning – 24
Construction – 23
RuneCraft – 22
Herblore – 21
Mining – 20
Agility – 19
Farming 18
Slayer – 17
Smithing – 16
Crafting – 15
Hunter – 14
Prayer – 13
Thieving – 12
Fishing – 11
Firemaking – 10
Magic – 9
Woodcutting – 8
Range – 7
Defense – 6
Hitpoints – 5
Attack – 4
Fletching – 3
Cooking – 2
Strength – 1

Yes I realize this will take a bit of time, but keep in mind I just kinda came up with this, and its past 3AM so I’ll prolly improve on it more. Actually, I think I’m going to code a program to do all this for me, but thats another day.

Feel free to post you “new total levels” here and see how you compare.  🙂

I’m 823.75 as of right now.

Đǻνǿ

~ by Davo on 21 September 2008.

Leave a comment