Gukes and Duts

Jul 19- 3 hr Drumline clinic

Jul 28- 4 hr Drumline auditions

Aug 1- Placement

Aug 4-8- 7 hr drumline practice

Ok, I seem to be getting pretty far ahead of myself already… As I mentioned in the recent post, drumline auditions and such were quickly approaching. On clinic day, we pretty much just got aquainted with each other and intrustors. Then the next week until auditions were pretty nerve racking. Auditions came and went, and I felt like I was pretty sloppy and a bit unprepared for what was expected of me. I drove home with modest thoughts about my skills and didn’t expect to get placed on anything mind-blowing. Btw, the spot I auditioned for was snare. (For those of you who don’t know what that is: If you’ve ever seen the movie drumline, it’s the type of drum that Nick Cannon plays) There were roughly 2-3 open spots for it out of 5 total. Like I said, I didn’t get my hopes up for anything.

The following few days were focused on marching techniques and warm-up drills. There are 5 different percussion instruments that the drumline consists of: Snares, Tenors (Quad Toms), Basses, Cymbals, and Bells (Pit). We each had our turn marching with and playing basic warm ups on each drum. Placement day finally came and snares were announced first. Jake, Shane, Tyler, Anthony, and………….Dave! Yes, I actually made it on snare. I couldn’t believe it. lol But anyway I’ve been extremely happy with that.

Full camp has started now and of course its 100 F+ degrees outside…ugh. Today was the first day and it was basically hell. That’s all I’m gonna say. Out on the field with a 50 some-odd pound drum on is no fun activity… Our show, field show, feature, and pre-game music were handed out today, and wow it was amazing how rusty all of us were. I, being 1 of 2 new guys on snare, was really havin to go thru rudiments and such to get the cadences right. I still got a lot to practice, but practice makes perfect right? It must be working because everything I’ve done today since ive got home has a tempo of some sort and I keep time. It gets a little old after a while tho. XD

Thats basically it. Kinda dreading the rest of the week and whats to come, but I’m gonna try to keep my head clear with some music and RS of course.

-And I bet youre wondering what the hell a “Guke” and a “Dut” is… Basically its drummer talk for counting off to begin playing. Just thought it would be interesting for a title. =P

Đǻνǿ

~ by Davo on 5 August 2008.

One Response to “Gukes and Duts”

  1. I wish I could play drums. The percussion and drumline sound the best in marching band.
    I hope you have a good season =]
    And update your blog! XD

Leave a comment